Sunday, 4th June 2023

page file computing

When you have faults, do not fear to abandon them


MVP competition on fire, the most ever or the first ever?

After 14 seasons, the 7th game of the championship was held. The competition for MVP is heating up as much as the match between the two teams aiming for the championship.

Anyang KGC and Seoul SK will play Game 7 of the 2022-2023 SKT A-Dot Professional Basketball Championship at Anyang Gymnasium on the 7th. It is only the 14th season since the 2008-2009 season when Jeonju KCC and Seoul Samsung faced each other, and the 6th and 7th game ever. The winning team will win their 4th championship.토스카지노

The competition for MVP is also on the rise. It is called championship MVP, final MVP, etc., but the official name is playoff MVP. KBL, which newly established the semifinal and semifinal MVP in the 2004-2005 season, abolished it from the 2011-2012 season. In addition, the name of the MVP of the championship game was changed to the playoff MVP.

From the first season to the 2010-2011 season, it was called the MVP of the championship game, but from the 2011-2012 season, it was changed to a method of voting for all players who participated in the playoffs, and the name was also changed. Of course, as much as the performance in the championship game leaves the biggest impact, there is still no case where a player belonging to a team that did not make it to the championship game was selected as MVP.

When discussing this season’s playoff MVP, the most likely candidate is Oh Se-geun (KGC). Oh Se-geun played an active role with an average of 19 points, 9.5 rebounds and 2.2 assists in 6 games, including 20 points or more in 3 consecutive games until the 3rd game. In addition to post-up and mid-range shots, he is also leading the team’s offense with efficient backdoor cuts. Oh Se-geun recorded a contribution of 206.83 and is in the overwhelming first place.

Oh Se-geun had a trophy in the 2011-2012 season when the name of the MVP in the championship match was changed to the playoff MVP. He was the first playoff MVP of a rookie, and was also selected as MVP in the 2016-2017 season, when KGC achieved its first combined championship. If he wins the MVP this time in the playoffs, he will be tied for first place with Yang Dong-geun (former Hyundai Mobis) for the most awards in the playoffs.

Kim Seon-hyung (SK) is second after Oh Se-geun with a contribution of 183.80. Although the floater is quiet compared to the beginning of the series, it still plays a large role in the SK offense by utilizing the 3-point shot and mid-range jumper. Whether or not Kim Seon-hyung is active has a decisive influence on SK’s match results. SK lost all three games in which Kim Sun-hyung only scored 10 points. On the other hand, Kim Seon-hyung scored 20 or more points twice in the 3 games SK won, recording 20.3 points, 2.3 3-point shots (50% success rate), 4 rebounds, 8.7 assists and 1.3 steals.

Kim Seon-hyeong was selected as the first playoff MVP in his debut by winning the combined championship with SK last season. If he is selected as the MVP in this playoff, he will be awarded the playoff MVP for the first time in two consecutive seasons. He is also named as the 8th domestic player ever to sweep the regular league and playoff MVPs.

While Oh Se-geun is considered an unrivaled MVP candidate in KGC, SK has many candidates. Jameel Warney is also showing off his presence every day. In the second game, he scored only 9 points and lost his pride, but regained his firepower starting with 28 points in the 4th game. In the 6th game, he recorded an average of 19.8 points and 11.3 rebounds, including 31 points, the most in an individual championship match, and is ranked first in both categories. If Warney is selected as the MVP, it will be the 5th case in history as a foreign player.

Choi Boo-gyeong is also easing the burden on Warney by recording an average of 13 points and 8 rebounds while taking on the dirty work. He played full-time in the 6th game and is the first in this category with an average of 36 minutes and 25 seconds. Contribution is third after Oh Se-geun and Kim Seon-hyung. SK is continuing a tight match with KGC by tying up the performances of Kim Seon-hyung, Warney, and Choi Bu-kyung, but votes may be dispersed in the playoff MVP vote. Of course, winning is more important than MVP.

Playoff MVP reporters’ votes are collected five minutes before the end of the fourth quarter. Potential candidates are being discussed based on their performance up to Game 6, but the possibility that votes will be dispersed by players who make a surprise appearance in Game 7, where the championship is at stake, cannot be ruled out.

Unlike the All-Star Game, where only the winning team selects the MVP, all teams in the playoffs are voted on, so in the playoff MVP, the runner-up team may win the trophy. In fact, Heo Jae (then Kia), who struggled with injuries in the 1997-1998 season, set a record as the first runner-up team MVP.

Will Oh Se-geun be able to stand shoulder to shoulder with Yang Dong-geun while holding the 3rd playoff MVP trophy? Or will Kim Seon-hyeong write a new history as the playoff MVP for two consecutive seasons? Wouldn’t it be possible for Jameel Warney or someone else who dominated Game 7 to become a surprise MVP? There is only 1 game left.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *